Regional Accreditation

Colorado State University has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) (and the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools) since 1925.

Institutional accreditation by the HLC, also known as regional accreditation, provides assurance to prospective students and other constituents that course credits and degrees earned from the institution meet quality standards. Accreditation is a requirement for federal financial aid and may be a requirement for some employment opportunities, professional licensure, and graduate education.  

CSU participates in the Open Pathway; one of three options institutions have with HLC to maintain accreditation.  It follows a 10-year cycle and, like all pathways, is focused on quality assurance and institutional improvement. The process includes regular monitoring, an assurance review in year 4, completion of a quality initiative in years 5-9 and a comprehensive evaluation in year 10.  

Comprehensive Evaluation Self-Study (2014)

Comprehensive Evaluation HLC Report (2014)

Year-4 Assurance Review Self-Report (2018)

Year-4 Assurance Review HLC Final Report (2018)

Year-4 HLC Notification Letter (2018)

Quality Initiative

Specialized Accreditation

All academic/professional degrees and all course credits earned at CSU are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. In addition, many of CSU’s academic programs are accredited through professional organizations in their disciplines.  

The current Specialized Accreditation Schedule provides a listing of accredited programs as well as the corresponding date for re-accreditation.  Disciplinary accreditation can be important for future employment or admission to graduate school.

Specialized accreditation is especially common if the program is intended to prepare graduates for an occupation requiring licensure.  Before enrolling in such a program, the student should verify that the program actually meets the requirements of the state in which he or she intends to practice.